Writing Bad Checks in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, it is against the law to write a check for an amount of money that is greater than the amount you have in the bank.
Common terms include:
Sometimes this can happen accidentally; however there are instances when this is done intentionally to either defraud a company or individual. No matter the reason, if you write a bad check, you can be charged with a crime.
Penalties for a Bad Check
If you wrote a bad check for less than $500, you can be charged with misdemeanor check fraud, punishable by a maximum $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail.
If the value of the check was between $500 and $1,000, you will be charged with a felony, punishable by a fine of $5,000, restitution and up to one year in jail.
Writing a bad check of $1,000 or more (either as one check or several) is punishable by up to 10 years in prison.
Schedule a Free, No Obligation Consultation