Tulsa, Oklahoma Drunk Driving
If you’ve been charged with drunk driving in Oklahoma, you need Tulsa’s only board-certified DUI defense attorney on your side. As a board-certified DUI defense attorney, Bruce Edge completed a specialized training course and exam with the National College of DUI Defense—the only organization recognized by the American Bar Association to issue board certifications in DUI defense. Nationwide, only 33 attorneys have achieved this specialized certification, and Bruce Edge is the only such attorney in the state of Oklahoma.
Drunk Driving Misdemeanors and Felonies
Anyone who drives with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher as measured within two hours of an arrest is a violation of Oklahoma’s drunk driving law. Under Oklahoma law, drunk driving can be either a misdemeanor or felony, depending upon circumstances such as prior DUI history. If the incident resulted in death or serious injury or if there was a minor child in the vehicle, the charge may be elevated to a felony.
Punishment for Drunk Driving
The punishment for drunk driving in Oklahoma varies depending upon the facts and circumstances of each case. A First Offense DUI is a misdemeanor that is punishable by ten days to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000. Additionally, your license can be suspended for six months to two years, and you can be required to attend an alcohol and substance abuse program. A Second, Third and Fourth Offense DUI within a ten-year period are all considered to be felonies that carry one to 20 years in prison plus a $5,000 fine. DUI Child Endangerment, which occurs when a minor child is in the car at the time of the incident, carries up to a four-year prison sentence and up to a $5,000 fine. DUI with Great Bodily Injury is a felony DUI that results in serious bodily injury and carries from one to five years in prison, plus a $5,000 fine. DUI First-Degree Manslaughter is a felony DUI that results in a death and is punishable with four years to life in prison.
A DUI conviction—even if it is a first offense—will result in serious penalties and long-lasting implications. If you find yourself facing a DUI charge, you need Oklahoma’s only board-certified DUI defense attorney on your side. Do not hesitate to call our office or fill out our online case evaluation form today.
Schedule a Free, No Obligation Consultation