Tulsa, Oklahoma Gun and Weapon Charges
Although it is legal to own a gun in Oklahoma, gun crimes are strictly prosecuted. In other words, it might be easy to own a gun but you must able to abide by the laws pertaining to gun ownership to avoid being charged with a gun crime. In order to avoid the risk of an arrest for gun-related charges, you must comply with the stringent licensing requirements of Oklahoma’s Self Defense Act.
Gun Crimes in Oklahoma
The most common gun crimes in Oklahoma include the improper handling of guns. Reckless handling of a firearm—including a shotgun, pistol or rifle—is defined under Oklahoma law as engaging in behavior that creates an unreasonable risk of death or serious injury to another person. Punishment for this offense is imprisonment in the local jail for ten days to six months. Additionally, you will be required to pay a fine of $50 to $500, your concealed handgun license will be revoked, and you will be required to pay an additional $1,000 in administrative fees.
Transporting a Loaded Firearm is illegal in Oklahoma and is punishable by six to 12 months in jail and a fine of $50 to $500. Under Oklahoma law, it is illegal to carry any type of loaded firearm in a vehicle over the public roads and highways within the state.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon is generally against the law in Oklahoma regardless of whether or not the weapon is loaded. However, an exception to this rule exists if the gun is used for hunting or educational or recreational purposes. Additionally, an exception exists if the weapon is licensed under the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.
Gun crimes are a serious matter that can carry expensive and hefty consequences in Oklahoma. One of our qualified attorneys can assist you with the licensing process as set forth in Oklahoma’s Self Defense Act or advocate on your behalf if you’ve been charged with a gun crime. Call our office today or fill out our online form now for a free, no-obligation review of your gun crime case
Schedule a Free, No Obligation Consultation