Prostitution Laws in Tulsa, Oklahoma
Under Oklahoma law, prostitution is the exchange of sexual favors for money or another valuable item or items. Law enforcement officers in Oklahoma are actively arresting both prostitutes and their clients, while prosecutors are aggressively trying these cases across the state.
Pandering and Pimping
At least two parties must be involved in order for an act of prostitution to occur: the prostitute and the person who pays for sexual contact with him or her. Paying for sexual contact is known as pandering or solicitation. In some instances, third parties, known as pimps, facilitate these encounters.
Pandering is punishable by two to 20 years behind bars and a fine of up to $3,000. Repeat offenses are subject to elevated penalties, including longer jail sentences and higher fines.
Penalties for Prostitution
Prostitution is commonly charged as a misdemeanor in Oklahoma. As such, it is punishable by up to 30 days in jail, a maximum $2,500 fine and up to 80 hours of community service.
If the sexual act in question was performed within 1,000 feet of a school, playground, place of worship or area used by minors under the age of 17, an additional $2,500 fine may be assessed, along with a maximum of five years in prison.
The state of Oklahoma also has additional enhanced penalties for who commit prostitution while knowingly infected with HIV which include up to five years in prison.
Aggressive Defense Against Prostitution Charges
Oklahoma lawmakers, district attorneys and police officers take prostitution seriously. If you have been arrested and charged with a prostitution-related crime, contact The Edge Law Firm today to schedule a free and confidential consultation of your case.
Schedule a Free, No Obligation Consultation