Oklahoma Grand Theft
What does “grand theft” mean?
The courts use market value of the item to determine its worth at the time it was stolen. Under Oklahoma law, grand theft is charged if the claimed value of the property involved is over $500. You would have been charged with petty theft if the purported value of the property was under $500.
Because it is a fine line between the two offenses, if you are charged with grand theft you definitely want an experienced lawyer to negotiate your case. There is at least some chance that the charge could be reduced to petty theft, which is a misdemeanor instead of a felony.
What Penalties Will I Face?
Because grand theft is a felony, the court could sentence you to one to five years in prison.
If you have been charged with grand theft, you need the assistance of an experienced attorney.
Schedule a Free, No Obligation Consultation