Child Under 12 Sexual Abuse Oklahoma
Any sexual activity involving an adult and a child under age 18 is considered child sexual abuse in Oklahoma. However, Oklahoma statute has a separate provision for sexual abuse that occurs to younger children. This is called child under 12 sexual abuse and its penalties are more severe than regular child sexual abuse. If you have been charged with this crime, it is vital that you have a proper understanding of child sexual abuse laws and penalties because they could have a grim effect on your future.
What is Child Under 12 Sexual Abuse?
Under Oklahoma statute, child under 12 sexual abuse can include:
- Asking or forcing a child to perform a sex act
What are the Penalties for Child Under 12 Sexual Abuse?
If you are convicted of this crime, you could be facing the following penalties:
- 25 years to life in prison
- A $500-$5,000 fine
- Mandatory registration as a sex offender, depending on the specifics of the charge
Defending Your Future
Oklahoma courts consider child under 12 sexual abuse a particularly heinous crime, making these difficult cases to win. If you have been charged with this crime, a strong defense is essential to defending your future.
Schedule a Free, No Obligation Consultation