Carrying While Under the Influence in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has some of the most gun-friendly legislation of any state in the country. Those who meet certain eligibility requirements may legally own and carry firearms.
Regardless of your eligibility to own and carry a gun, it is against the law for anyone in Oklahoma to carry a firearm while they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs—this includes being impaired by over-the-counter drugs or prescription medications that are legally prescribed to you.
Carrying while under the influence is a misdemeanor. If convicted you could face:
- $50 to $500 in fines
- 10 days to six months in jail
Defenses for Intoxicated Carry
While Oklahoma’s gun statute is clear regarding this offense, it is possible to mount a successful defense against the charge of carrying while under the influence. An experienced criminal defense attorney who is familiar with Oklahoma’s gun laws may be able to build a successful defense in your case.
Schedule a Free, No Obligation Consultation