First Offense DUI in Oklahoma
Being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) is a stressful experience, especially if it is your first offense. The penalties can be severe and can significantly affect many areas of your life, including your ability to drive, your finances, your job prospects. It can even result in jail time.
DUI Charges Explained
When you are charged with a DUI the first time, you face both administrative and criminal penalties. Your license will be automatically suspended 30 days after your arrest. This is an administrative charge and is overseen by the Department of Public Safety (DPS).
To retain your driving privileges, you must ask for an administrative hearing within the first 15 days after being arrested. This is the only way to maintain your ability to drive.
A judge or jury will hear the criminal DUI charges against you. They determine the penalties, explained below.
Penalties for a First Offense DUI Explained
If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in Oklahoma, the penalties could include from ten days to up to one year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. If the DUI was the result of a serious accident or if there are additional charges, the first offense could be considered a felony.
A conviction also means that a subsequent DUI within the next ten years after your sentence would be considered a felony.
These charges remain on your record, showing up in routine background checks run by potential employers and landlords.