Unlawful Possession of a Firearm
Oklahoma’s Self Defense Act allows for individuals with an open or concealed carry permit to carry a firearm in public. However, certain people may not possess a firearm under any circumstances and there are places throughout the state where no one except for law enforcement may be armed.
Who May Not Carry a Firearm?
Some people are not eligible for a gun permit in Oklahoma. They include:
- - Minors under the age of 18
- - Non-residents
- - Convicted felons
- - Those facing pending felony charges
- - Those with a pending permanent protective order entered against them
Where Carrying Is Illegal
Even those with a legal permit may not carry a gun in the following locations:
- - School property (including busses)
- - Bars
- - Government buildings
- - Sporting arenas
- - Casinos
Penalties for Unlawful Possession
If you illegally possess a firearm or if you have a permit to carry and do so in a location where firearms are illegal, you can face serious consequences that include time behind bars and expensive fines. The following are some of the charges that fall under this umbrella:
- - Allowing a child to possess a weapon: punishable by up to 30 days in jail, maximum fine of $250
- - Possession of a weapon by a convicted felon: punishable by one to 10 years in prison
- - Possession of a weapon in a bar: punishable by up to two years in jail, maximum fine of $1,000
- - Possession of a gun under the influence: punishable by 10 days to six months in jail and a fine of up to $500
If you are stopped by an officer while carrying a firearm—whether or not you have a permit—you are obligated to tell him or her that you are armed. Failure to do so is punishable by a maximum $100 fine.