Free Online Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Case Evaluation
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Videos
Tulsa, Oklahoma Sample Criminal Cases
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney Fees

Tulsa, Oklahoma Shoplifting Cases

Under Oklahoma law, shoplifting can be categorized as either a misdemeanor or a felony offense.  If the value of the shoplifted merchandise is less than $500, the offense is categorized as a misdemeanor.  However, if the value of the shoplifted merchandise is between $500 and $1,000, the offense is categorized as a felony.  Finally, if the value of the shoplifted merchandise exceeds $5,000, the offense is categorized as a felony that carries additional penalties.

The Legal Definition of Shoplifting

Oklahoma law has a broad definition for shoplifting.  Shoplifting includes taking merchandise from a store without the intention of paying for it as well as exiting a store with unpaid merchandise.  Additionally, Oklahoma law includes concealing products while in a store as shoplifting.  Even swapping price tags on merchandise is covered under Oklahoma’s shoplifting law.

Punishment for Shoplifting

According to Oklahoma law, shoplifting is officially referred to as Larceny of Merchandise from a Retailer.  Depending upon the value of the shoplifted merchandise, you will be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony.  If the merchandise is valued under $500, you will be facing a misdemeanor charge that will be punished according to your criminal history.  A first-offense misdemeanor shoplifting conviction carries a possible punishment of up to 30 days in the county jail plus up to a $500 fine.  A second-offense misdemeanor shoplifting conviction carries a possible punishment of up to one year in the county jail plus up to a $1,000 fine.  A third-offense misdemeanor shoplifting conviction carries a possible punishment of two to five years behind bars in the Oklahoma state penitentiary.

If the value of the shoplifted merchandise is between $500 and $1,000, you will be charged with felony shoplifting, which is punishable by up to one year in the county jail plus up to a $5,000 fine.  You will also be ordered to pay restitution.  If the value of the shoplifted merchandise exceeds $1,000, you’ll be facing possible punishment of up to three years imprisonment in the State Penitentiary. 

Contact Our Office Today

A shoplifting conviction on your record can negatively impact your ability to qualify for a loan, seek employment or apply to college.  One of the qualified criminal defense attorneys at the Edge Law Firm can protect your legal rights and negotiate with the prosecuting attorney to lessen the potential impact that a shoplifting conviction can have on your life.  If you or someone you know is facing a shoplifting charge, request a free, no-obligation review of your case by filling out the online form below

Edge Law Firm Ratings
(918) 582-6333
FREE PARKING
Edge Law Firm Ratings