Free Online Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Case Evaluation
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Videos
Tulsa, Oklahoma Sample Criminal Cases
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney Fees

Tulsa, Oklahoma Rape Charges

Rape is a serious crime that can destroy a person’s life and reputation in the community.  Additionally, rape carries hefty criminal penalties.  Under Oklahoma law, rape is defined as forcing sexual intercourse upon someone who has not consented, and is sometimes accompanied by violence or threats of physical harm. Statuatory rape only requires that one party be underage – consent is not a factor for statuatory rape. Rape may also occur when the victim is impaired by drugs or alcohol or otherwise incapacitated or unconscious. 

First-Degree Rape

Under Oklahoma law, first-degree rape is a felony that is punishable by five years to life in prison in the state penitentiary. An individual convicted of first-degree rape is also required to register as a sex offender. First-degree rape encompasses a number of different sexual intercourse crimes including statutory rape.  Statutory rape occurs when a person who is over the age of eighteen has sexual intercourse with a person who is under fourteen years old.  Consent by the minor victim is immaterial for statutory rape.  That is to say even if the minor gives consent to the sexual intercourse, it is still considered to be statutory rape.  Additionally, first-degree rape includes rape by instrumentation on anyone under 14 years old or rape by instrumentation that causes bodily harm.  Rape that involves any type of force, violence or threat of violence or rape that is committed on someone who is incapable of consent due to mental illness or unsoundness of mind is also considered to be first-degree rape.

Second-Degree Rape

Oklahoma law also recognizes a second category of rape known as second-degree rape.  A ess severe charge than first-degree rape, second-degree rape still carries a hefty penalty.  Second-degree rape is punishable by one to 15 years of imprisonment in the state penitentiary, and registration as a sex offender. Second-degree rapes includes statutory rape on anyone who is under 16 years old.

Contact An Attorney Right Away

Because of its traumatic nature, rape is a crime that carries serious legal and personal ramifications.  Merely being charged with rape can destroy a person’s reputation in the community.  A qualified criminal defense attorney can fight the charges against you while also protecting your rights as well as your reputation.  If you are facing rape charges, contact the Edge Law Firm as soon as possible, or submit your information using our online form for a free, no-obligation review of your case.

Edge Law Firm Ratings
(918) 582-6333
FREE PARKING
Edge Law Firm Ratings