Schedule I Drugs Oklahoma
Oklahoma is known for its tough drug legislation. In fact, many drug possession charges are considered felonies under Oklahoma statute, which will result in a prison sentence. If you are facing a schedule I drug possession charge, it is important understand how it is classified under the law and what penalties you may face if convicted.
What are Schedule I Drugs in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma breaks drugs into five categories called schedules. Oklahoma statute determines a drug’s schedule based upon its medicinal value, dangerous or addictive attributes, and potential for abuse. Highly addictive drugs with no known medical value or safe use tend to fall into the schedule I category, whereas a weight management medication might fall into a schedule V.
In Oklahoma, possession of a schedule I drug other than marijuana is a felony. Examples of schedule I drugs include:
- - Opiates, such as acetylmmethadol or dextromoramide
- - Opiate derivatives such as morphine or codeine
- - Hallucinogens such as LSD or DMT
- - Depressants or stimulants such as Qualuudes or N-ethylamphetamine
- - Synthetic cannabinoids such as Spice
- - Marijuana
What are the Penalties for Schedule I Drug Possession in Oklahoma?
The penalties for schedule I drug possession depend upon whether or not you have any prior offenses on your record. The penalty for a first offense for any drug other than marijuana is two to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. However, if it is your second or subsequent offense, the penalty is four to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
First offense possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor, punishable by one year in jail.