Oklahoma Protective Order Advice and Penalties
Question: What should a person do if a protective order has been filed against him or her? What are the penalties for violating a protective order in Oklahoma?
Answer: If an emergency protective order is filed against you, you should contact an attorney immediately. It’s almost always in your best interest to fight a protective order. Penalties for violating a protective order include arrest, and for a first offense you could face up to a year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. A second violation of a protective order is a felony, which carries a minimum of one year in jail, up to three years in prison and anywhere from a $2,000 to a $10,000 fine. A first violation for a protective order where an injury is involved is a misdemeanor that carries a minimum of 20 days in jail, up to one year in jail, and up to a $5,000 fine. And then a second violation of protective order which involves an injury carries a minimum of one year and up to five years in prison and anywhere from a $3,000 to a $10,000 fine. Additionally, if a protective order has been issued against you, it is a violation of both state and federal law for you to ever be in possession of firearms or to be around firearms. You really need to seek counsel if you have an emergency protective order filed against you.