Oklahoma Arson and Penalties
Question: What is arson? What are the penalties in Oklahoma?
Answer: Arson is when you set something on fire. Arson includes any fire which is set deliberately; it can also include accidental fires which result from the explosion of meth labs. Arson is divided into several degrees, and these range from setting fire to inhabited structures such as homes or apartment complexes down to setting fire to cars, or setting fire just to other items of personal property. Penalties for first degree arson, which is setting fire to an inhabited structure, runs up to 35 years in prison and up to a $25,000 fine. Setting fire to other structures, such as automobiles, carries up to 15 years. The attempt to commit arson can carry up to 10 years in prison.