Marijuana Possession and Cultivation in Tulsa, Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, even if you’re caught with less than one ounce of marijuana, you can be charged with the unlawful possession of marijuana. Because Oklahoma’s drug laws are some of the toughest in the country, you can be faced with harsh penalties if you’re charged with a crime involving marijuana. Even if you are caught with less than one ounce of marijuana, you can be charged with unlawful possession.
If you are arrested with any amount of marijuana on you, you can be charged with possession of marijuana under one ounce. Even a trace amount of marijuana is enough to support such a charge. Possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor. A first-time possession charge is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine up to $1,000. A second or subsequent offense is considered to be a felony with increased punishment that includes between two to 10 years in prison in the state penitentiary, and up to a $5,000 fine.
Planting or cultivating marijuana is a felony under Oklahoma law. Marijuana cultivation is considered to be a felony in Oklahoma. A first offense for cultivation of marijuana carries a minimum of two years, and a maximum of life in prison, and up to a $50,000 fine. A second offense for cultivation of marijuana carries a sentence of four years to life in prison, and up to a $100,000 fine. A second offense for cultivation of marijuana does not allow for probation.
Of the three marijuana crimes, trafficking is the most serious. Selling and/or transporting marijuana is a serious felony under Oklahoma law. Punishment for this offense varies depending upon the amount of marijuana that was trafficked. For 25 pounds of marijuana or less, the minimum punishment includes two years in the state penitentiary and a fine ranging from $25,000 up to $100,000. For 1,000 pounds or marijuana or more, the minimum punishment includes four years in the state penitentiary and a minimum fine of $100,000. If the selling or transporting occurs within 2,000 feet of a school, a public park or public housing, then the associated penalties are doubled.
Consult An Attorney
If you’re facing a marijuana charge, you need the assistance of a qualified criminal defense attorney to protect your rights. The Edge Law Firm can help. For a free, no-obligation review of your case and the charges you are facing, call our office or fill out our online form.