Free Online Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Case Evaluation
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Videos
Tulsa, Oklahoma Sample Criminal Cases
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney Fees

Furnishing Firearms to Minors in Oklahoma

With the exception of using a shotgun or rifle for use in a gun safety class, target shooting or hunting, it is illegal in Oklahoma for anyone under the age of 18 to be in possession of a firearm.

Standard for Adults

Oklahoma law takes this one step further, holding any adult who knowingly, intentionally or recklessly provides a firearm to a minor criminally liable.

There are several standards that must be met when trying this charge, including proving that the adult was aware that the minor may commit a crime or if the minor has been convicted as an adult or deemed a delinquent.

Penalties

A first offense furnishing firearms to minor’s conviction is punishable by a maximum $250 fine and/or up to 30 days in jail. Second and subsequent offenses are punishable by a maximum $500 fine and/or up to three months in jail.

If you possess a concealed handgun license and are convicted, you will face the above penalties and your license will be suspended for six months.  

Charges for Minors

Separate charges can be filed against a minor if he or she took the firearm without the permission of the owner.

Edge Law Firm Ratings
(918) 582-6333
FREE PARKING
Edge Law Firm Ratings