Free Online Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Case Evaluation
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Videos
Tulsa, Oklahoma Sample Criminal Cases
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney Fees

First Offense Domestic Abuse Oklahoma

A domestic abuse charge can not only be embarrassing, but also have serious consequences. In Oklahoma, although a first offense is a misdemeanor, a domestic abuse charge can be filed as a felony depending on the specific facts of the case. Any conviction can affect your child visitation or custody rights, gun ownership rights, as well as future opportunities. It is important to first understand exactly what type of crime you are being accused of committing.

What Constitutes Domestic Abuse?

Most people are familiar with the term domestic abuse—but few know its true legal meaning. To be charged with domestic abuse, an assault and battery  must be committed against someone with whom you have a prior relationship. Under Oklahoma law, this prior relationship can be any of the following:

  • • Current spouse
  • • Former spouse
  • • Former spouse’s current spouse
  • • Current spouse’s former spouse
  • • Family members (child, parent, aunt, cousin, father/mother of your child, etc.)
  • • Current boyfriend/girlfriend
  • • Former boyfriend/girlfriend
  • • Current roommate/household member
  • • Former roommate/household member

Penalties for Domestic Abuse

Generally, a first offense domestic abuse charge is a misdemeanor. There is a possible punishment of up to one year in prison and/or a fine as much as $5,000. The potential penalties increase upon second or subsequent convictions. A felony domestic abuse conviction carries a potential 10 years in prison.

Certain factors can increase the penalties for even a first offense. For example, if the allegations include abuse in front of a child, abuse of a pregnant woman, or the alleged abuse resulted in serious bodily harm, you could be charged with a felony and face the increased penalties.

Professional Help Is Available

Domestic abuse is a serious charge that carries serious penalties. If you are facing a domestic abuse charge in Oklahoma, contact the attorneys of the Edge Law Firm. Call or submit our online form to schedule a free, confidential case evaluation today.

Edge Law Firm Ratings
(918) 582-6333
FREE PARKING
Edge Law Firm Ratings