Free Online Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Case Evaluation
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Videos
Tulsa, Oklahoma Sample Criminal Cases
Tulsa, Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney Fees

Child Abuse & Enabling Child Abuse Oklahoma

Child abuse is a felony in Oklahoma, which means that it is punishable by a prison sentence and a permanent criminal record. If you have been charged with child abuse or enabling child abuse, it is important to understand how the state of Oklahoma defines these charges and the penalties you may face if you are convicted

What is Child Abuse in Oklahoma?

In Oklahoma, child abuse is a broad term used to describe any intentional harm inflicted or threatened upon a child under the age of 18. It does not, however, include spanking as a form of discipline. Examples of intentional harm include:

  • - Physical violence, such as kicking or punching
  • - Sexual acts such as incest or rape
  • - Any action or lack of action that endangers a child.
  • - Any action or lack of action that compromises a child’s physical or mental health

What are the Penalties for Child Abuse in Oklahoma?

If you have been charged with child abuse, you could be looking at one or a combination of the following penalties:

  • - Up to a year in county jail
  • - A year or up to life in prison
  • - A fine ranging from $500-$5,000

What is Enabling Child Abuse?

Oklahoma statute defines enabling child abuse as knowingly or purposely allowing someone to abuse a child. For example, if you knew that your cousin was abusive and you allowed her to watch your child while you were at work, you would be enabling child abuse. Additionally, if you intended for your cousin to harm the child, that would also be considered enabling child abuse. 

What are the Penalties for Enabling Child Abuse in Oklahoma?

If you have been charged with enabling child abuse, you could be facing one or a combination of the following penalties:

  • - Up to a year in prison and/or county jail
  • - A fine ranging from $500-$5,000

Safeguard Your Future

Child abuse charges should not be taken lightly. If you are facing one of these serious charges, it is important to have an accurate understanding of Oklahoma child abuse laws because a prison sentence is on the line when you enter the courtroom. An experienced defense lawyer can not only arm you with a strong defense, but also answer your questions through every step of the process. To set up a free no-obligation case review, call the attorneys at The Edge Law Firm or fill out an online evaluation form today.

Edge Law Firm Ratings
(918) 582-6333
FREE PARKING
Edge Law Firm Ratings